Skip to content

Attractions in South Devon

South Devon has many visitor attractions and places of interest for those who enjoy going out and exploring…

Slapton Ley (9 miles) – www.slnnr.org.uk
A national nature reserve with walks and trails, and lots of free family activities

Sharpham Vineyard (13 miles) – www.sharpham.com
A working estate on the banks of the River Dart, sample award winning wine and cheeses

South Devon Railway (12 miles) – www.southdevonrailway.co.uk
Offers you the chance to sit back and relax on the steam train journey along the River Dart to Buckfastleigh

Paignton & Dartmouth Steam Railway (15 miles) – www.dartmouthrailriver.co.uk
Takes you along the stunning Torbay coastline

Cockington Court (18 miles) – www.cockingtoncourt.org
Offers a marvellous manor house, country park and craft centre

Babbacombe Model Village (22 miles) – www.model-village.co.uk
Explore the animated world in miniature

Kents Cavern (22 miles) – www.kents-cavern.co.uk
Enjoy guided tours around the prehistoric caves

House of Marbles (25 miles) – www.houseofmarbles.com
A working glass and game factory, with a marble museum

Becky Falls (29 miles) – www.beckyfalls.com
Near Bovey Tracey. Offering scenic walks, for all ages and abilities, feed the animals and enjoy the 70ft sheer drop of the water fall

Come rain or shine be exhilarated at award winning adventure parks, feed the animals on the farm or discover wonderful creatures at marine and wildlife centres.

Woodlands Leisure Park (8 miles) – www.woodlandspark.com
An action packed family day out with indoor and outdoor play areas and the best rides in Devon

Totnes Rare Breeds Farm (15 miles) – www.totnesrarebreeds.co.uk
A calming farm homing many rare and endangered species, along with a petting farm and British wildlife

Pennywell Farm (15 miles) – www.pennywellfarm.co.uk
Devon’s friendliest day out! Enjoy an array of hands on activities with the animals, along with many different play areas, lots of indoor and outdoor fun

Buckfast Butterfly Farm and Otter Sanctuary (16 miles) – www.ottersandbutterflies.co.uk
Has many exotic moths and butterflies, along with birds, terrapins and otters

Dartmoor Zoological Park (16 miles) – www.dartmoorzoo.org
Home to over 200 animals set in 30 acres of parkland

Paignton Zoo (17 miles) – www.paigntonzoo.org.uk
80 acres of natural habitat and over 3000 animals

Occombe Farm (17 miles) – www.occombe.org.uk
A free day out on a working farm, with lots of daily events and nature trails

National Marine Aquarium (18 miles) – www.national-aquarium.co.uk
A spectacular visual experience of the Atlantic Ocean

Torquay Dinosaur World (21 miles) – www.torquaysdinosaurworld.co.uk
Providing you with indoor fun; prehistoric models, fossils and interactive play

Living Coasts (21 miles) – www.livingcoasts.org.uk
A unique coastal zoo, with Penguins being the favourite attraction

Perhaps you are a history buff, or a horticulturist? You will fine that South Devon offers a fine selection of historic houses, museums and abbeys to explore, along with spectacular landscapes and gardens

Cookworthy Museum (1 mile) – www.kingsbridgemuseum.org.uk
Located in the old Grammar school depicts local, rural life of times gone by…

Overbeck’s (8 miles) – www.nationaltrust.org.uk/overbecks
A fascinating, and exotic coastal garden, with panoramic views, and the Edwardian House of inventor Otto Overbeck

Salcombe Maritime Museum (8 miles)
Dedicated to preserving the towns heritage

Fast Rabbit Farm (10 miles) – www.fastrabbitfarm.co.uk
Offers 12 acres of gorgeous woodland gardens to explore

Totnes Castle (11 miles) – www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/totnes-castle/
A Norman motte and bailey castle, the focal point on the towns hillside

Dartmouth Museum (13 miles) – www.dartmouthmuseum.org
Located in the old merchants house offering an extensive collection of artefacts depicting the towns maritime heritage

Dartmouth Castle (14 miles) – www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/dartmouth-castle/
A 600 year old fortress on the waterfront guarding the entrance to the Dart estuary

Berry Pomeroy Castle (14 miles) – www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/berry-pomeroy-castle/
Devon’s most haunted castle! Explore if you dare…

Buckfast Abbey (16 miles) – www.buckfast.org.uk
The place to experience peace and tranquility, a living monastry, with Abbey, gardens, shops and restaurant

Coleton Fishacre (17 miles) – www.nationaltrust.org.uk/coleton-fishacre
A beautiful art deco house, with a Mediterranean garden

Saltram House (18 miles) – www.nationaltrust.org.uk/saltram
An 18th century mansion depicting country life through the centuries with beautiful landscaped park

Greenway (18 miles) – www.nationaltrust.org.uk/greenway
The once home of Agatha Christie, with a romantic woodland garden, vinery and peach house

Plymouth City Museum – The Box (19 miles) – www.plymouth.gov.uk/museumandartsbox
Home to a varied collection including fine art and natural history

Torre Abbey (20 miles) – www.torre-abbey.org.uk
Has an impressive art collection, with picturesque garden with many exotic plants

The Garden House (25 miles) – www.thegardenhouse.org.uk
Has 8 acres of naturalistic planting and a delightful walled garden

Buckland Abbey (26 miles) – www.nationaltrust.org.uk/buckland-abbey
The once home of seafaring adventures Drake and Grenville

For more information about Attractions in South Devon, please visit the local South Hams visitors directory.

See what else is going on in the area ...

Parkland Site South Devon Area Activities

Activities

You will discover that South Devon is the perfect location for the water-sports enthusiast...

Parkland Site South Devon Area Attractions

Attractions

South Devon has many visitor attractions and places of interest for those who enjoy exploring…

Parkland Site South Devon Area Beaches

Beaches

The South Hams coastline is lined with an array of vast sandy beaches and pebbled coves...

Parkland Site South Devon Area Eating Out

Eating Out

From fine dining, home-cooked pub grub to take away fish ’n’ chips you will find an establishment...

Parkland Site South Devon Area Whats On

What's On

Some of the main local events through-out the year, rain or shine, there is a event for every occasion...

Parkland Site Salcombe town

Local Towns

Explore small towns and quaint villages, or perhaps magnificent gardens and historic houses...

Adult only caravan, camping and glamping between Kingsbridge and Salcombe, South Devon