Skip to content

Activities in South Devon

You will discover that South Devon is the perfect location for the water-sports enthusiast. For the energetic why not try your hand at surfing, kayaking or paddle boarding at Bantham or Bigbury. Salcombe offers boat hire for the experienced sailor, or tuition for the beginner. For a leisurely day sit back and relax on a scenic cruise from Dartmouth, enjoy the wildlife on the River Dart, or venture out to sea for the stunning coastline. Fishing trips can also be arranged from Salcombe, and the area has many private fisheries.

Kayaking and Canoeing

Singing Paddles (Kingsbridge) – www.singingpaddles.co.uk

Canoe Adventures (Totnes) – www.canoeadventures.co.uk

Moving Tides Sea Kayaking

Sailing Tuition

Island Cruising Club, Salcombe – www.islandcruisingclub.com

Salcombe Dinghy Sailing – www.salcombedinghysailing.co.uk

Salcombe Powerboat School – www.salcombepowerboats.co.uk

Water Sports

Bantham Surfing Academy – www.banthamsurfingacademy.co.uk

Bigbury Discovery Surf School – www.discoverysurf.com

Bigbury Venus Riders – www.lovingthebeach.co.uk

South Sands Sailing – www.southsandssailing.co.uk

Blackpool Sands – www.blackpoolsands.co.uk/watersports

Plymouth Watersports – www.reactivewatersports.co.uk

Triocean Surf Shop – www.trioceansurf.co.uk

Boat Hire

Salcombe Dinghy Sailing – www.salcombedinghysailing.co.uk

Salcombe Boat Hire – www.whitestrandboathire.co.uk

Tuckers Boat Hire – www.yeowardboatyards.com

Dartmouth Boat Hire – www.dartmouth-boat-hire.co.uk

Boat Trips and Cruises

From Kingsbridge – www.kingsbridgesalcombeferry.co.uk

From Salcombe – www.whitestrandboathire.co.uk

From Dartmouth – www.dartmouthrailriver.co.uk

Sea Fishing

Anglo Dawn, Salcombe – www.salcombeangling.co.uk

Whitestrand Boat Hire, Salcombe – www.whitestrandboathire.co.uk

African Queen, Dartmouth – www.theafricanqueen.co.uk

Fresh Water Fishing

Coombe Water Fishery (1 mile) – www.coombefarm-devon.co.uk

Fishing licences for rod fishing are available from Kingsbridge and Loddiswell post offices.

Spas and Beauty (for a relaxing time)

Voyage Spa at Thurlestone Hotel – www.thurlestone.co.uk

Golf

Bigbury – www.bigburygolfclub.co.uk

Thurlestone – www.thurlestonegolfclub.co.uk

Thurlestone Hotel (9 hole) – www.thurlestone.co.uk

Dartmouth – www.thedartmouthhotel.co.uk

Arts & Crafts (perhaps for a rainy day!)

The Art Cafe, Kingsbridge – www.theartcafekingsbridge.co.uk

Harbour House, Kingsbridge – www.harbourhouse.org.uk

China Blue, Totnes – www.china-blue.co.uk

The Shops at Dartington – www.shopsatdartington.co.uk

For more information about Activities in South Devon, please visit the local South Hams visitors directory.

See what else is going on in the area ...

Parkland Site South Devon Area Activities

Activities

You will discover that South Devon is the perfect location for the water-sports enthusiast...

Parkland Site South Devon Area Attractions

Attractions

South Devon has many visitor attractions and places of interest for those who enjoy exploring…

Parkland Site South Devon Area Beaches

Beaches

The South Hams coastline is lined with an array of vast sandy beaches and pebbled coves...

Parkland Site South Devon Area Eating Out

Eating Out

From fine dining, home-cooked pub grub to take away fish ’n’ chips you will find an establishment...

Parkland Site South Devon Area Whats On

What's On

Some of the main local events through-out the year, rain or shine, there is a event for every occasion...

Parkland Site Salcombe town

Local Towns

Explore small towns and quaint villages, or perhaps magnificent gardens and historic houses...

Adult Only Caravan, Camping & Glamping between Kingsbridge and Salcombe, Devon.